(e)cycling tour routes

Print

Drau Tour

This route takes you past Hochosterwitz’s imposing castle and across the scenic landscape of the “Valley of the Kings” that is saturated with history, and on to Völkermarkt reservoir. This challenging day trip takes you from St. Veit an der Glan to the beautiful Drau valley and the “Lake Klopeinersee – South Carinthia” holiday area.


Tour route

The route uses parts of the Carinthian provincial cycle path network. Additional signposts at key points will help you find your way!

The sections in detail:
  • Fuchspalast in St. Veit an der Glan – St. Veit an der Glan railway station
  • R7 “Friesacherweg”: St. Veit an der Glan railway station – Glandorf
  • R5 “Glan-Gurk Radweg” cycle path: Glandorf – Untermühlbach – Reipersdorf – Brückl – St. Margarethen ob Töllerberg – St. Ruprecht – Völkermarkt
  • R1 “Drauradweg” cycle path: Völkermarkt – Völkermarkt reservoir
  • R1E “Seeberg Radweg” cycle path: Völkermarkt reservoir– Kühnsdorf railway station

This tour starts at the Fuchspalast in St. Veit an der Glan, with its highly recommended multi-media exhibition “Erlebnis Energie (Energy Adventure)”. You should also visit the Museum of St. Veit, and enjoy the atmosphere of the historic town centre. The route takes you past the railway station, to path R7, the “Friesacherweg”, which you follow in a southerly direction through the railway underpass. You proceed along traffic-calmed residential streets and then, after crossing Völkermarkter Straße road, you get to an almost uninterrupted purpose-built cycle path that runs all the way to Klagenfurt. Along the way you also pass the Hallenbad (Indoor Pool) energy site. Then the route leaves behind St. Veit an der Glan’s built-up area and mostly runs parallel to the river Glan, across fields and meadows.

In Altglandorf turn left onto cycle path R5 “Glan-Gurk Radweg” riding for a short stretch along the main road, before turning left to the Sonnenpark Untermühlbach energy site – this short detour is definitely worthwhile! Now the route climbs gently, through a small valley – it takes you directly to the impressive Hochosterwitz castle. Caution: the next 5km stretch to Brückl runs along a main road with heavy traffic!

In Brückl take the right turn at the roundabout and soon afterwards, turn left again after the chemicals factory. Follow the main road for a short while and then bear right – the stretch that follows runs through particularly beautiful scenery. You next proceed to St. Margarethen, through the Carinthian “Valley of the Kings”, with its historic burial mounds to the left of the cycle path around Waisenberg. In St. Margarethen keep to the left and proceed along the minor road, through the motorway underpass, eventually reaching Völkermarkt. The designated route skirts around Völkermarkt but you may equally choose to cycle through the town. After that it is all downhill – along a small valley and straight to Völkermarkt reservoir. If you have enough time, a relaxing ride on one of the Drauschifffahrt pleasure boats would certainly be just the thing!

Next you set off on cycle path R1 “Drauradweg” following the reservoir shore, as far as the gorgeous cycle stop at the bridge entrance. The reservoir is an inviting place for a rest and a dip in the water. Once across bridge finally you cycle along path R1E “Seeberg Radweg”, to the tour’s designated destination – Völkermarkt-Kühnsdorf railway station.

Technical Information

  • Starting place: St. Veit/Glan, Fuchspalast
  • Finish: Völkermarkt-Kühnsdorf railway station
  • Distance: 42,0 km
  • Altitude difference: 400 m
  • Duration: ca. 4:30 h
  • Degree of difficulty: medium
  • Note: return trip by train.
    Of course you can also deal the return trip by your own energy if you have an economically way of cycling or you are prepared to cycle without electrical support.

Drau Tour

Drau Tour

ROUTE PLAN

Development

The “e-biking in Central Carinthia” project was realised and funded as part of the Austrian Programme for the Development of Rural Areas, under bullet point 4 (LEADER). Funding to a total of 91,000 Euros was supplied by the European Union and the Province of Carinthia.

Transport partners

Einfach-raus-Rad-Ticket

A list of taxi and coach businesses:
List of all transport partners

Partner businesses

Our many partner businesses have are on stand-by to welcome cyclists and e-cyclists! You can find a full list of hotels, accommodation providers, restaurants and catering businesses here: List of all partner businesses

Contact

Tourismusregion Mittelkärnten
Hauptplatz 23
9300 St. Veit/Glan

T: +43 4212 45 608
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

(e)Biken in der Region

Drucken

Drau Tour

Vorbei an der imposanten Burganlage Hochosterwitz, durch das geschichtsträchtige und landschaftlich schöne „Tal der Könige“ zum Völkermarkter Stausee. Die anspruchsvolle Tagestour führt Sie von St. Veit an der Glan ins schöne Drautal und in die Urlaubsregion „Klopeinersee – Südkärnten“.

 

Touristische Wegbeschreibung

Die Route folgt den Kärntner Landesradwegen, eine Zusatzbeschilderung hilft Ihnen an relevanten Stellen bei der Routenfindung!

Die Abschnitte im Detail:
  • St. Veit an der Glan „Fuchspalast“ – Bhf. St. Veit an der Glan
  • R7 „Friesacherweg“: Bhf. St. Veit an der Glan – Glandorf
  • R5 „Glan-Gurk Radweg“: Glandorf – Untermühlbach – Reipersdorf – Brückl – St. Margarethen ob Töllerberg – St. Ruprecht – Völkermarkt
  • R1 „Drauradweg“: Völkermarkt – Völkermarkter Stausee
  • R1E „Seeberg Radweg“: Völkermarkter Stausee – Bhf. Kühnsdorf

Der Fuchspalast mit der sehenswerten multimedialen Ausstellung „Erlebnis Energie“ in St. Veit an der Glan bildet den Ausgangspunkt dieser Tour. Besuchen Sie auch das Museum St. Veit und genießen Sie das Flair der Altstadt. Die Route führt vorbei am Bahnhof zum R7 „Friesacherweg“, welchem Sie nach Süden durch die Bahnunterführung folgen. Auf verkehrsberuhigten Siedlungsstraßen gelangen Sie, nach Querung der Völkermarkter Straße, auf den bis Klagenfurt nahezu durchgehend ausgebauten Radweg. Dabei radeln Sie auch am Energieschauplatz Hallenbad vorbei. Die Tour verlässt nun das bebaute Gebiet der Stadt St. Veit an der Glan und führt meist parallel zur Glan durch Wiesen und Äcker.

In Altglandorf biegen Sie links auf den R5 „Glan-Gurk Radweg“ ab und fahren ein kurzes Stück auf der Hauptstraße, bevor es links zum Energieschauplatz Sonnenpark Untermühlbach geht – der kurze Abstecher von der Route lohnt sich! Es geht leicht bergauf durch ein kleines Tälchen – die beeindruckende Burganlage Hochosterwitz wird direkt angefahren. Achtung: Die nächsten 5 km bis Brückl verlaufen auf der stark befahrenen Hauptstraße!

In Brückl geht es am Kreisverkehr nach rechts und bald danach, nach der Chemiefabrik, wieder nach links. Nach einem kurzen Stück auf der Hauptstraße biegen Sie rechts ab – es folgt ein landschaftlich besonders schöner Abschnitt. Durch das Kärntner „Tal der Könige“, mit seinen historischen Hügelgrabanlagen rund um Waisenberg linkerhand der Radroute, gelangen Sie nach St. Margarethen. Hier halten Sie sich links und gelangen auf der Nebenstraße und unter der Autobahn hindurch schließlich nach Völkermarkt. Die offizielle Route führt rund um Völkermarkt herum, individuell kann auch durch den Ort gefahren werden. Es geht bergab – durch ein kleines Tälchen führt die Route direkt an den Völkermarkter Stausee. Ein entspannender Ausflug mit der Drauschifffahrt ist bei genügend Zeit sicherlich genau das Richtige!

Entlang des Sees geht es nun auf dem R1 „Drauradweg“ bis zum schönen Rad-Rastplatz am Beginn der Brücke. Der See lädt zum Rasten und Baden ein! Über die Brücke gelangen Sie schließlich auf dem R1E „Seeberg Radweg“ zum offiziellen Endpunkt der Tour – dem Bahnhof Völkermarkt-Kühnsdorf.

Technische Daten

  • Startpunkt: St. Veit/Glan, Fuchspalast
  • Zielpunkt: Bahnhof Völkermarkt-Kühnsdorf
  • Streckenlänge: 42,0 km
  • Höhenmeter: 400 m
  • Dauer: ca. 4:30 h
  • Schwierigkeitsgrad: mittel
  • Hinweis: Rückreise mit der Bahn. Wer sparsam mit dem Akku umgeht oder bereit ist auch ohne elektrische Unterstützung zu "radeln", kann den Rückweg selbstverständlich auch auf eigenen Tritt bestreiten.

Drau Tour

Drau Tour

TOURPLANER

Entwicklungsförderung

Die Umsetzung des Projektes „e-biken in Mittelkärnten“ wurde im Rahmen des Österreichischen Programms für die Entwicklung des ländlichen Raums im Schwerpunkt 4 – LEADER gefördert. Der Förderbetrag in Höhe von € 91.000,- setzt sich aus Mitteln der Europäischen Union und des Landes Kärnten zusammen.

Mobilitätspartner

Einfach-raus-Rad-Ticket

Ausgewählte Taxi- oder Busunternehmer:
Liste aller Mobilitätspartner

Partnerbetriebe

Unsere zahlreichen Partnerbetriebe haben sich auf Radfahrer und (e)Biker eingestellt! Eine umfangreiche Liste von Hotels, Unterkünften, Restaurant- und Gastronomiebetrieben finden Sie hier: Liste aller Partnerbetriebe

Kontakt

Tourismusregion Mittelkärnten
Hauptplatz 23
9300 St. Veit/Glan

T: +43 4212 45 608
Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist vor Spambots geschützt! Zur Anzeige muss JavaScript eingeschaltet sein!