(e)cycling tour routes

Print

Görtschitztal Tour

In the midst of the Saualpe, Guttaring and Brückl mountain uplands, you ride from Althofen, through the beautiful Görtschitztal valley – a noted centre for the arts - and the “Görtschitztal Milk” region of culinary delights to St. Veit an der Glan. On this demanding day-tour, parts of the route follow the course of a disused railway and also the imposing castle of Hochosterwitz awaits a visit from you.


Tour Route

The route uses parts of the Carinthian provincial cycle path network. Additional signposts at key points will help you find your way!

The sections in detail:
  • R7B “Kappelerweg” cycle path: Treibach-Althofen railway station – Silberegg
  • R7C “Silbereggerweg” cycle path: Silberegg – Guttaring – Mösel
  • R7A “Görtschitztal Radweg” cycle path: Mösel – Klein St. Paul – Brückl
  • R5 “Glan-Gurk Radweg” cycle path: Brückl – Reipersdorf – Glandorf
  • R7 “Friesacherweg” cycle path: Glandorf – St. Veit an der Glan railway station
  • St. Veit an der Glan railway station – St. Veit an der Glan Fuchspalast

This tour starts from in front of Treibach-Althofen railway station.

A tip for connoisseurs: on the stretch between Althofen and Pöckstein-Zwischenwässern we recommend taking the Gurktal Museum Railway! Enjoy the romance of this authentic narrow-gauge railway.

VAs you come out of the railway station your route leads off to the right from the square. After about 300m turn right again, under the railway lines, following cycle path R7B “Kappelerweg” in the direction of Althofen town centre until you reach the roundabout. If you are not put off by the steep incline, you have the option of continuing straight on into the historic town centre of Althofen, with its Auer-von-Welsbach museum. However, the designated route turns right at the roundabout, away from the town, on a path that crosses the Krappfeld lowlands, in the direction of Silberegg.

From Silberegg cycle path R7C “Silbereggerweg” traverses “Rabachboden”, an almost completely wild area alongside Silberbach stream as far as Guttaring, offering some pleasant opportunities for taking a break. From Guttaring the cycle path runs steeply uphill along the main road, in the direction of Mösel. Before cycling downhill again, you may wish to make a detour to Maria Hilf church. Then there is a descent in the direction of Mösel, where your route takes you to the right into the Görtschitztal valley, on R7A “Görtschitztal Radweg”. This recently established cycle path follows the course of a disused railway line. The Saualpe mountains and the Brückl and Guttaring mountain uplands serve as the backdrop to your steadily downhill ride to Wieting. In Wieting you leave the course of the former railway and your cycle path runs alongside the road, as far as Klein St. Paul, which is noted as a centre for artists. The interesting Sonnenalm visitor dairy and the Museum für Quellenkultur (Museum of Source Culture) are right by the path.

The route continues downhill southwards, to Eberstein with its impressive castle and numerous attractions (e.g. Ebersteiner Volksliedhaus (folk song centre), the medicinal herb garden, llama trekking, the Norican panorama footpath &c). When you press on to Brückl, leave the R7A “Görtschitztal” cycle path at the third roundabout. Then follow the R5 “Glan-Gurk” cycle path in the direction of St. Veit an der Glan. Caution: the next 5km stretch runs along a main road with heavy traffic. With the impressive Hochosterwitz castle in your sights you leave the main road and the path takes you right to the foot of the famous castle crag. In Niederosterwitz keep to the right, and turn left soon afterwards to ride steadily downhill through a little valley, until you reach the Sonnenpark Untermühlbach energy site – this short detour is definitely worthwhile! After Untermühlbach bear right and follow the main road for 300m. Then turn right onto the R7 “Friesacherweg” cycle path alongside the river Glan. Most of the route runs parallel with the Glan across fields and meadows, in the direction of St.Veit. At the point where a bridge crosses the river to your left, keep to the right and proceed to the Hallenbad (Indoor Pool) energy site. Once you have crossed Völkermarkter Straße road your ride takes you through traffic-calmed residential streets, through a railway underpass and via the railway station into St. Veit an der Glan town centre.

This tour’s final destination is the Fuchspalast, with its highly recommended multi-media exhibition “Erlebnis Energie (Energy Adventure)”. You should also visit the Museum of St. Veit, and enjoy the atmosphere of the historic town centre.

Technical Information

  • Starting place: Treibach-Althofen railway station
  • Finish: St. Veit an der Glan - Fuchspalast
  • Distance: 48.9 km
  • Altitude difference: 365 m
  • Duration: 5 hrs
  • Degree of difficulty: medium
  • Note: return trip by train.
    Of course you can also deal the return trip by your own energy if you have an economically way of cycling or you are prepared to cycle without electrical support.

Görtschitztal Tour

Görtschitztal Tour

ROUTE PLAN

Development

The “e-biking in Central Carinthia” project was realised and funded as part of the Austrian Programme for the Development of Rural Areas, under bullet point 4 (LEADER). Funding to a total of 91,000 Euros was supplied by the European Union and the Province of Carinthia.

Transport partners

Einfach-raus-Rad-Ticket

A list of taxi and coach businesses:
List of all transport partners

Partner businesses

Our many partner businesses have are on stand-by to welcome cyclists and e-cyclists! You can find a full list of hotels, accommodation providers, restaurants and catering businesses here: List of all partner businesses

Contact

Tourismusregion Mittelkärnten
Hauptplatz 23
9300 St. Veit/Glan

T: +43 4212 45 608
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

(e)Biken in der Region

Drucken

Görtschitztal Tour

Zwischen Saualpe, Guttaringer und Brückler Bergland fahren Sie von Althofen durch das kunstgeprägte schöne Görtschitztal und die Genussregion „Görtschitztaler Milch“ nach St. Veit an der Glan. Auf der anspruchsvollen Tagestour, teilweise geführt auf einer aufgelassenen Bahntrasse, wartet auch die imposante Burg Hochosterwitz auf Ihren Besuch.

 

Touristische Wegbeschreibung

Die Route folgt den Kärntner Landesradwegen, eine Zusatzbeschilderung hilft Ihnen an relevanten Stellen bei der Routenfindung!

Die Abschnitte im Detail:
  • R7B „Kappelerweg“: Bhf. Treibach-Althofen – Silberegg
  • R7C „Silbereggerweg“: Silberegg – Guttaring – Mösel
  • R7C „Silbereggerweg“: Silberegg – Guttaring – Mösel
  • R5 „Glan-Gurk Radweg“: Brückl – Reipersdorf – Glandorf
  • R7 „Friesacherweg“: Glandorf – Bhf. St. Veit an der Glan
  • Bhf. St. Veit an der Glan – St. Veit an der Glan „Fuchspalast“

Die Tour hat ihren Ausgangspunkt am Vorplatz des Bahnhofs Treibach-Althofen.

Ein Tipp für Genießer: Zwischen Althofen und Pöckstein-Zwischenwässern können Sie mit der Gurktal Museumsbahn echte Schmalspurromantik genießen!

Vom Vorplatz des Bahnhofs führt die Route nach rechts und nach etwa 300 Meter wieder nach rechts unter der Bahn hindurch auf dem R7B „Kappelerweg“ Richtung Zentrum Althofen bis zum Kreisverkehr. Wer den sehr steilen Anstieg nicht scheut, hat hier die Möglichkeit geradeaus in die Altstadt von Althofen mit dem Auer-von-Welsbach-Museum zu gelangen. Die reguläre Route führt aber am Kreisverkehr nach rechts stadtauswärts auf einem Radweg über das Krappfeld Richtung Silberegg.

Ab Silberegg folgt die Tour dem Radweg R7C „Silbereggerweg“ durch den fast unverbauten „Rabachboden“ entlang des Silberbaches bis nach Guttaring mit guter Rastmöglichkeit. Ab Guttaring verläuft der Radweg auf der Hauptstraße steil bergauf Richtung Mösel. Bevor es wieder bergab geht, kann ein Abstecher zur Kirche „Maria Hilf“ gemacht werden. Bergab geht es Richtung Mösel, wo die Route nach rechts über den R7A „Görtschitztal Radweg“ ins Görtschitztal führt. Auf der ehemaligen Bahntrasse fahren Sie auf dem neu errichteten Radweg, begleitet von Saualpe sowie Brückler und Guttaringer Bergland, stetig bergab bis Wieting. In Wieting verlassen Sie die Bahntrasse und der Radweg führt nun neben der Straße bis ins künstlergeprägte Klein St. Paul. Die interessante Schaumolkerei Sonnenalm und das Museum für Quellenkultur liegen direkt am Weg.

Die Route führt weiter bergab nach Süden in den Ort Eberstein mit der imposanten Burganlage und zahlreichen Ausflugsmöglichkeiten (z.B. Ebersteiner Volksliedhaus, Heilkräutergarten, Lamatrekking, Norischer Panoramaweg, etc.). Weiter nach Brückl verlässt die Route am dritten Kreisverkehr den R7A „Görtschitztal Radweg“ und führt ab nun auf dem R5 „Glan-Gurk Radweg“ Richtung St. Veit an der Glan. Achtung: Die nächsten 5 km verlaufen auf der stark befahrenen Hauptstraße! Die beeindruckende Burg Hochosterwitz im Blick, verlassen Sie die Hauptstraße und gelangen so direkt an den Fuß der bekannten Burganlage. In Niederosterwitz halten Sie sich rechts und fahren bald danach nach links durch ein kleines Tälchen stetig bergab zum Energieschauplatz Sonnenpark Untermühlbach – der kurze Abstecher lohnt sich! Nach Untermühlbach fahren Sie rechtsabbiegend 300 m auf der Hauptstraße und biegen dann rechts in den Radweg R7 „Friesacherweg“ ein, der entlang der Glan verläuft. Die Tour führt meist parallel zur Glan durch Wiesen und Äcker Richtung St.Veit. Dort, wo eine Brücke links über die Glan führt, halten Sie sich rechts und gelangen zum Energieschauplatz Hallenbad. Nach Querung der Völkermarkter Straße fahren Sie schließlich auf verkehrsberuhigten Siedlungsstraßen durch eine Bahnunterführung hindurch und über den Bahnhof ins Zentrum von St. Veit an der Glan.

Der Fuchspalast mit der sehenswerten multimedialen Ausstellung „Erlebnis Energie“ bildet den Abschlusspunkt dieser Tour. Besuchen Sie auch das Museum St. Veit und genießen Sie das Flair der Altstadt.

Technische Daten

  • Startpunkt: Bahnhof Treibach-Althofen
  • Zielpunkt: St. Veit/Glan, Fuchspalast
  • Streckenlänge: 48,9 km
  • Höhenmeter: 365 m
  • Dauer: ca. 5:00 h
  • Schwierigkeitsgrad: mittel
  • Hinweis: Rückreise mit der Bahn. Wer sparsam mit dem Akku umgeht oder bereit ist auch ohne elektrische Unterstützung zu "radeln", kann den Rückweg selbstverständlich auch auf eigenen Tritt bestreiten.

Görtschitztal Tour

Görtschitztal Tour

TOURPLANER

Entwicklungsförderung

Die Umsetzung des Projektes „e-biken in Mittelkärnten“ wurde im Rahmen des Österreichischen Programms für die Entwicklung des ländlichen Raums im Schwerpunkt 4 – LEADER gefördert. Der Förderbetrag in Höhe von € 91.000,- setzt sich aus Mitteln der Europäischen Union und des Landes Kärnten zusammen.

Mobilitätspartner

Einfach-raus-Rad-Ticket

Ausgewählte Taxi- oder Busunternehmer:
Liste aller Mobilitätspartner

Partnerbetriebe

Unsere zahlreichen Partnerbetriebe haben sich auf Radfahrer und (e)Biker eingestellt! Eine umfangreiche Liste von Hotels, Unterkünften, Restaurant- und Gastronomiebetrieben finden Sie hier: Liste aller Partnerbetriebe

Kontakt

Tourismusregion Mittelkärnten
Hauptplatz 23
9300 St. Veit/Glan

T: +43 4212 45 608
Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist vor Spambots geschützt! Zur Anzeige muss JavaScript eingeschaltet sein!