(e)cycling tour routes

Print

Tibet Tour

Hüttenberg in Carinthia - birthplace of Heinrich Harrer – is a Carinthian insider tip. Besides the Heinrich Harrer museum, the only mine in Austria that is open to visitors and still preserved in its original condition awaits you. Add to that an extensive collection of minerals, as well as numerous other museums for you to visit. This tour takes you right from Althofen to Hüttenberg and back again.


Tour Route

The route uses parts of the Carinthian provincial cycle path network. Additional signposts at key points will help you find your way!

The sections in detail:
  • R7B “Kappelerweg” cycle path: Treibach-Althofen railway station – Silberegg
  • R7C “Silbereggerweg” cycle path: Silberegg – Guttaring – Mösel
  • R7A “Görtschitztal Radweg” cycle path: Mösel – Hüttenberg
  • Outward and return

This tour starts from in front of Treibach-Althofen railway station. A tip for connoisseurs: on the stretch between Althofen and Pöckstein-Zwischenwässern we recommend taking the Gurktal Museum Railway. Enjoy the romance of this authentic narrow-gauge railway. As you come out of the railway station your route leads off to the right from the square. After about 300m turn right again, under the railway lines, following cycle path R7B “Kappelerweg” in the direction of Althofen town centre until you reach the roundabout. If you are not put off by the steep incline, you have the option of continuing straight on into the historic town centre of Althofen, with its Auer-von-Welsbach museum.

However, the designated route turns right at the roundabout, away from the town, on a path that crosses the Krappfeld lowlands, in the direction of Silberegg. From Silberegg cycle path R7C “Silbereggerweg” traverses “Rabachboden”, an almost completely wild area alongside Silberbach stream as far as Guttaring, offering some pleasant opportunities for taking a break. From Guttaring the cycle path runs steeply uphill along the main road, in the direction of Mösel. Before cycling downhill again, you may wish to make a detour to Maria Hilf church. Then there is a descent in the direction of Mösel, where your route branches off to the left for the Görtschitztal valley and Hüttenberg, on the R7A “Görtschitztal” cycle path. Caution: for some 6km, all the way to Hüttenberg, the route runs along the main road through the narrow Görtschitztal valley. There is a future prospect of a cycle path following the course of the disused railway.

After viewing Hüttenberg’s many treasures, such as the famous Harrer museum, the Lingkor pilgrim path, and the numerous other attractions higher up in Knappenberg (the visitor mine, the mineral collection &c), the tour returns once more to Althofen along the same route.

Technical Information

  • Starting place: Treibach-Althofen railway station
  • Finish: Treibach-Althofen railway station
  • Distance: 35,9 km
  • Altitude difference: 537 m
  • Duration: 4 hrs 15 mins
  • Degree of difficulty: medium to difficult

Tibet Tour

Tibet Tour

ROUTE PLAN

Development

The “e-biking in Central Carinthia” project was realised and funded as part of the Austrian Programme for the Development of Rural Areas, under bullet point 4 (LEADER). Funding to a total of 91,000 Euros was supplied by the European Union and the Province of Carinthia.

Transport partners

Einfach-raus-Rad-Ticket

A list of taxi and coach businesses:
List of all transport partners

Partner businesses

Our many partner businesses have are on stand-by to welcome cyclists and e-cyclists! You can find a full list of hotels, accommodation providers, restaurants and catering businesses here: List of all partner businesses

Contact

Tourismusregion Mittelkärnten
Hauptplatz 23
9300 St. Veit/Glan

T: +43 4212 45 608
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

(e)Biken in der Region

Drucken

Tibet Tour

Hüttenberg in Kärnten – die Geburtsgemeinde von Heinrich Harrer ist ein Kärntner Geheimtipp. Neben dem Heinrich-Harrer-Museum warten das einzige im Originalzustand erhaltene Schaubergwerk Österreichs sowie eine umfangreiche Mineraliensammlung und viele weitere Museen darauf besucht zu werden. Die leichte Tour führt von Althofen direkt nach Hüttenberg und retour.

 

Touristische Wegbeschreibung

Die Route folgt den Kärntner Landesradwegen, eine Zusatzbeschilderung hilft Ihnen an relevanten Stellen bei der Routenfindung!

Die Abschnitte im Detail:
  • R7B „Kappelerweg“: Bhf. Treibach-Althofen – Silberegg
  • R7C „Silbereggerweg“: Silberegg – Guttaring – Mösel
  • R7A „Görtschitztal Radweg“: Mösel – Hüttenberg
  • hin und retour

Die Tour hat ihren Ausgangspunkt am Vorplatz des Bahnhofs Treibach-Althofen. Ein Tipp für Genießer: Zwischen Althofen und Pöckstein-Zwischenwässern können Sie mit der Gurktal Museumsbahn echte Schmalspurromantik genießen! Vom Vorplatz des Bahnhofs führt die Route nach rechts und nach etwa 300 Meter wieder nach rechts unter der Bahn hindurch auf dem R7B „Kappelerweg“ Richtung Zentrum Althofen bis zum Kreisverkehr. Wer den sehr steilen Anstieg nicht scheut, hat hier die Möglichkeit geradeaus in die Altstadt von Althofen mit dem Auer-von-Welsbach-Museum zu gelangen.

Die reguläre Route führt aber am Kreisverkehr nach rechts stadtauswärts auf einem Radweg über das Krappfeld Richtung Silberegg. Ab Silberegg folgt die Tour dem Radweg R7C „Silbereggerweg“ durch den fast unverbauten „Rabachboden“ entlang des Silberbaches bis nach Guttaring mit guter Rastmöglichkeit. Ab Guttaring verläuft der Radweg auf der Hauptstraße steil bergauf Richtung Mösel. Bevor es wieder bergab geht, kann ein Abstecher zur Kirche „Maria Hilf“ gemacht werden. Bergab geht es Richtung Mösel, wo die Route nach links ins Görtschitztal über den R7A „Görtschitztal Radweg“ nach Hüttenberg abzweigt. Achtung: Bis nach Hüttenberg führt die Tour durch das enge Görtschitztal etwa 6 km auf der Hauptstraße, zukünftig verläuft der Radweg auf der ehemaligen Bahntrasse.

Nach Besichtigung der vielen „Schätze“ in Hüttenberg, wie z. B. das bekannte Harrer-Museum, der Lingkor Pilgerpfad und viele weitere Ausflugsziele im höher gelegenen Knappenberg (Schaubergwerk, Mineralienschau, etc.), führt die Tour auf demselben Weg wieder nach Althofen zurück.

Technische Daten

  • Startpunkt: Bahnhof Treibach-Althofen
  • Zielpunkt: Bahnhof Treibach-Althofen
  • Streckenlänge: 35,9 km
  • Höhenmeter: 537 m
  • Dauer: ca. 4:15 h
  • Schwierigkeitsgrad: mittel

Tibet Tour

Tibet Tour

TOURPLANER

Entwicklungsförderung

Die Umsetzung des Projektes „e-biken in Mittelkärnten“ wurde im Rahmen des Österreichischen Programms für die Entwicklung des ländlichen Raums im Schwerpunkt 4 – LEADER gefördert. Der Förderbetrag in Höhe von € 91.000,- setzt sich aus Mitteln der Europäischen Union und des Landes Kärnten zusammen.

Mobilitätspartner

Einfach-raus-Rad-Ticket

Ausgewählte Taxi- oder Busunternehmer:
Liste aller Mobilitätspartner

Partnerbetriebe

Unsere zahlreichen Partnerbetriebe haben sich auf Radfahrer und (e)Biker eingestellt! Eine umfangreiche Liste von Hotels, Unterkünften, Restaurant- und Gastronomiebetrieben finden Sie hier: Liste aller Partnerbetriebe

Kontakt

Tourismusregion Mittelkärnten
Hauptplatz 23
9300 St. Veit/Glan

T: +43 4212 45 608
Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist vor Spambots geschützt! Zur Anzeige muss JavaScript eingeschaltet sein!