(e)cycling tour routes

Print

Wörthersee Tour

A cycling tour packed to the full with pleasure and culture in the Glan valley. Starting in St. Veit an der Glan the route takes you along the river Glan, past the famous Carinthian “Herzogstuhl” (Duke’s Throne) and Maria Saal Cathedral right into Klagenfurt, Carinthia’s provincial capital. A multitude of attractions await you – including Lake Wörthersee itself!


Tour Route

The route covers parts of the Carinthian provincial cycle path network. Additional signposts at key points will help you find your way.

The sections in detail:
  • Fuchspalast in St. Veit an der Glan – St. Veit an der Glan railway station
  • R7 “Friesacherweg” cycle path: St. Veit an der Glan railway station – Klagenfurt city centre
  • R4B “Lendkanal” cycle path: Klagenfurt city centre – Klagenfurt beach
  • R4 “Wörthersee” cycle path: Klagenfurt beach – Krumpendorf railway station

This tour starts at the Fuchspalast in St. Veit an der Glan, with its highly recommended multi-media exhibition “Erlebnis Energie (Energy Adventure)”. You should also visit the Museum of St. Veit, and enjoy the atmosphere of the historic town centre. The route takes you past the railway station, to path R7, the “Friesacherweg”, which you follow in a southerly direction through the railway underpass. You proceed along traffic-calmed residential streets and then, after crossing Völkermarkter Straße road, you get to an almost uninterrupted purpose-built cycle path all the way to Klagenfurt. Along the way you also pass the Hallenbad (Indoor Pool) energy site. Then the route leaves behind St. Veit an der Glan’s built-up area and mostly runs parallel to the river Glan, across fields and meadows.

From here you will be able to make out Sonnenpark Untermühlbach on the left-hand side. In Altglandorf, cross the main road and bear right, over a bridge spanning the river Glan. After crossing the railway line, which involves just about the only climb on this tour, Industriepark Blintendorf (industrial estate) spreads out to the right. Continuing alongside the river Glan it’s a delight to cycle through the area around Maria Saal, that is so rich in history. Several historical highlights await you right beside the cycle path. At the point where the cycle path changes over from the right bank to the left bank of the river, we recommend making your own detour off the specified route to the “Herzogstuhl” (Duke’s Throne), the “Kärntner Freilichtmuseum“ (Carinthian Open Air Museum) and Maria Saal Cathedral. These are well known sight-seeing destinations, and all are well signposted and easily accessible from the cycle path. If need be, you could also end your tour at Maria Saal railway station.

The cycle path continues alongside the river Glan, past Karnburg towards Klagenfurt. The surroundings become increasingly urban, and after two motorway underpasses and a few sections without a designated cycle path, you will have reached Klagenfurt. Your way into the city is well marked and so Klagenfurt town centre, with its famous “Lindwurm”, is easy to find. Klagenfurt has lots of rewarding attractions on offer for those who are interested (amongst them, Schloss Ehrental Agricultural Museum, the Schleppe Brewery and Distillery, the Rudolfinum Carinthia Provincial Museum, the Diocesan Museum, the Carinthian Museum of Modern Art, Happ Reptile Zoo, Klagenfurt Mining Museum, the Botanical Centre with its botanical garden, Coat-of-Arms Hall, and Minimundus with its planetarium). But equally, a simple stroll through the historic town centre will allow you to relax after the cycle ride.

Starting at Neuer Platz (square) take cycle path R4B “Lendkanal Radweg” in the direction of Lake Wörthersee. By all means allow yourself enough time for a refreshing dip in the lake and a ride on one of the Wörthersee Schifffahrt pleasure boats. From Klagenfurt Strandbad (beach) follow cycle path R4 “Wörtherseeradweg” along the northern shore of Lake Wörthersee, with some fantastic views of the Karawanken mountains. This will take you to this tour’s final destination, Krumpendorf am Wörthersee railway station.

Technical Information

  • Starting place: St. Veit an der Glan - Fuchspalast
  • Finish: Krumpendorf am Wörthersee railway station
  • Distance: 29.9 km
  • Altitude difference: 115 m
  • Duration: 2 hrs 45 mins
  • Degree of difficulty: easy
  • Note: return trip by train.
    Of course you can also deal the return trip by your own energy if you have an economically way of cycling or you are prepared to cycle without electrical support.

Wörthersee Tour

Wörthersee Tour

ROUTE PLAN

Development

The “e-biking in Central Carinthia” project was realised and funded as part of the Austrian Programme for the Development of Rural Areas, under bullet point 4 (LEADER). Funding to a total of 91,000 Euros was supplied by the European Union and the Province of Carinthia.

Transport partners

Einfach-raus-Rad-Ticket

A list of taxi and coach businesses:
List of all transport partners

Partner businesses

Our many partner businesses have are on stand-by to welcome cyclists and e-cyclists! You can find a full list of hotels, accommodation providers, restaurants and catering businesses here: List of all partner businesses

Contact

Tourismusregion Mittelkärnten
Hauptplatz 23
9300 St. Veit/Glan

T: +43 4212 45 608
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

(e)Biken in der Region

Drucken

Wörthersee Tour

Genuss- und Kulturradeln im Glantal. Ausgehend von St. Veit an der Glan führt die Route entlang der Glan vorbei am berühmten „Kärntner Herzogstuhl“ und dem Dom Maria Saal in die Kärntner Landeshauptstadt Klagenfurt. Zahlreiche Ausflugsziele warten – Wörthersee inklusive.

 

Touristische Wegbeschreibung

Die Route folgt den Kärntner Landesradwegen, eine Zusatzbeschilderung hilft Ihnen an relevanten Stellen bei der Routenfindung!

Die Abschnitte im Detail:
  • St. Veit an der Glan „Fuchspalast“ – Bhf. St. Veit an der Glan
  • R7 „Friesacherweg“: Bhf. St. Veit an der Glan – Klagenfurt Zentrum
  • R4B „Lendkanal Radweg“: Klagenfurt Zentrum – Klagenfurt Strandbad
  • R4 „Wörthersee Radweg“: Klagenfurt Strandbad – Bhf. Krumpendorf

Der Fuchspalast mit der sehenswerten multimedialen Ausstellung „Erlebnis Energie“ in St. Veit an der Glan bildet den Ausgangspunkt dieser Tour. Besuchen Sie auch das Museum St. Veit und genießen Sie das Flair der Altstadt. Die Route führt vorbei am Bahnhof zum R7 „Friesacherweg“, welchem Sie nach Süden durch die Bahnunterführung folgen. Auf verkehrsberuhigten Siedlungsstraßen gelangen Sie, nach Querung der Völkermarkter Straße, auf den bis Klagenfurt nahezu durchgehend ausgebauten Radweg. Dabei radeln Sie auch am Energieschauplatz Hallenbad vorbei. Die Tour verlässt nun das bebaute Gebiet der Stadt St. Veit an der Glan und führt meist parallel zur Glan durch Wiesen und Äcker.

Von hier aus können Sie linkerhand den Sonnenpark Untermühlbach erkennen. In Altglandorf queren Sie die Hauptstraße und fahren rechts über eine Brücke über die Glan. Nach Querung der Bahntrasse, die wohl einzige Steigung auf dieser Tour, erstreckt sich rechter Hand der Industriepark Blintendorf. Der Glan weiterhin folgend, radelt es sich angenehm durch das geschichtsträchtige Gebiet rund um Maria Saal. Gleich mehrere geschichtliche Highlights warten hier in unmittelbarer Nähe des Radweges. Dort, wo der Radweg vom rechten auf das linke Glanufer wechselt, empfiehlt es sich, einen individuellen Abstecher zum „Herzogstuhl“, „Kärntner Freilichtmuseum“ und „Dom Maria Saal“ einzuplanen. Die bekannten Sehenswürdigkeiten sind vom Radweg aus gut beschildert erreichbar. Bei Bedarf lässt sich am Bahnhof Maria Saal die Route beenden.

Der Radweg führt weiter neben der Glan, vorbei an Karnburg, Richtung Klagenfurt. Es wird „städtischer“ und nach zweimaliger Autobahnunterführung und mehreren Abschnitten ohne Radweg gelangen Sie nach Klagenfurt. Die Stadteinfahrt ist gut beschildert und so ist das Klagenfurter Zentrum mit dem berühmten „Lindwurm“ leicht zu finden. Klagenfurt hat für Interessierte viele lohnenswerte Ausflugsziele zu bieten (u. a.: Landwirtschaftsmuseum Schloss Ehrental, Schleppe Brau- und Brennwelt, Landesmuseum Kärnten Rudolfinum, Diözesanmuseum, Museum Moderner Kunst Kärnten, Reptilienzoo Happ, Bergbaumuseum Klagenfurt, Botanikzentrum mit Botanischem Garten, Wappensaal, Minimundus mit Planetarium), aber auch ein einfacher Stadtbummel in der Altstadt entspannt von der Radtour.

Vom Neuen Platz fahren Sie nun entlang des R4B „Lendkanal Radweg“ Richtung Wörthersee.

Planen Sie hier unbedingt reichlich Zeit für einen Sprung ins kühle Nass und für eine Fahrt mit der Wörthersee Schifffahrt ein! Vom Klagenfurter Strandbad aus geht es, mit wunderschönem Blick auf die Karawanken, auf dem R4 „Wörtherseeradweg“ am Nordufer des Wörthersees entlang, zum Zielpunkt, dem Bahnhof Krumpendorf am Wörthersee.

Technische Daten

  • Startpunkt: St. Veit/Glan, Fuchspalast
  • Zielpunkt: Bahnhof Krumpendorf am Wörthersee
  • Streckenlänge: 29,9 km
  • Höhenmeter: 115 m
  • Dauer: ca. 2:45 h
  • Schwierigkeitsgrad: leicht
  • Hinweis: Rückreise mit der Bahn. Wer sparsam mit dem Akku umgeht oder bereit ist auch ohne elektrische Unterstützung zu "radeln", kann den Rückweg selbstverständlich auch auf eigenen Tritt bestreiten.

   Wörtersee Tour
 
   Wörthersee Tour

TOURPLANER

Entwicklungsförderung

Die Umsetzung des Projektes „e-biken in Mittelkärnten“ wurde im Rahmen des Österreichischen Programms für die Entwicklung des ländlichen Raums im Schwerpunkt 4 – LEADER gefördert. Der Förderbetrag in Höhe von € 91.000,- setzt sich aus Mitteln der Europäischen Union und des Landes Kärnten zusammen.

Mobilitätspartner

Einfach-raus-Rad-Ticket

Ausgewählte Taxi- oder Busunternehmer:
Liste aller Mobilitätspartner

Partnerbetriebe

Unsere zahlreichen Partnerbetriebe haben sich auf Radfahrer und (e)Biker eingestellt! Eine umfangreiche Liste von Hotels, Unterkünften, Restaurant- und Gastronomiebetrieben finden Sie hier: Liste aller Partnerbetriebe

Kontakt

Tourismusregion Mittelkärnten
Hauptplatz 23
9300 St. Veit/Glan

T: +43 4212 45 608
Diese E-Mail-Adresse ist vor Spambots geschützt! Zur Anzeige muss JavaScript eingeschaltet sein!